Budget lens for hockey

I took some photos when my hockey team played, using my D500 and a 105mm micro lens. The teams liked them, but I really need more reach, and the focus was often on the background (I used 3d focus tracking). So, what is the best budget lens for hockey, probably a zoom, probably ~70-150mm or ~70-200mm? I’m no pro, just happy if I get some pictures that the players like. Note that I can only stand in the middle area or at either end near a face off spot. I don’t want to spend buckets of money as this is just for fun.

With the D500 you do have a crop factor to consider. What kind of light are you working with?

In my AHL team's arena we have LED lighting and I use Nikon's 18-140mm VR lens. I also shoot through a photo hole. For the team's purposes, they are fine with ISO ranging from 2500 to 6400. For focusing, use AF-C, set the camera up for back focus button and 21-point. I find hockey is way to fast for the 3-D tracking to work for me.

If the lighting is far from optimal, I would look for a used Nikon AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 VR lens and shoot over the glass if you do not have access to a photo hole. With the crop factor, I find the 70-200, even at 70mm, too close if shooting along the boards unless I am going for player closeups. The VR I version could be a good budget buy.

Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks. The light is not good, so I do need F2.8. I guess the 80-200 zoom or similar is the way to go. I did wonder if any third party lenses were worth considering. Sigma have a decent reputation these days.

Real Name
Andrew
Thanks. The light is not good, so I do need F2.8. I guess the 80-200 zoom or similar is the way to go. I did wonder if any third party lenses were worth considering. Sigma have a decent reputation these days.
just my personal experience, but I’ve had horrible focus issues with sigma lenses on Nikon DSLRs. I’d say look into a used Tamron 70-200/2.8 if looking third party.