Built-in flash with CLS

Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
46
Location
Dallas Texas
When shooting using CLS is there a way to set the built-in flash to NOT flash? I get some weird shadows when I shoot in portrait mode with my 800 on top of my bracket. It appears that the built-in flash is going off as well and with it being on the side of the camera it does generate some shadows on the wall from time to time.

Most of my shooting is done outdoors or with an AB so I don't have to shoot with this 800 often but there are times that I really love it.

Tim
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,011
Location
San Jose, CA
When shooting using CLS is there a way to set the built-in flash to NOT flash? I get some weird shadows when I shoot in portrait mode with my 800 on top of my bracket. It appears that the built-in flash is going off as well and with it being on the side of the camera it does generate some shadows on the wall from time to time.

Select "--" as the mode for the internal flash. It will still flash to command the remotes to fire, but at a very low power.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
27
When shooting using CLS is there a way to set the built-in flash to NOT flash? I get some weird shadows when I shoot in portrait mode with my 800 on top of my bracket. It appears that the built-in flash is going off as well and with it being on the side of the camera it does generate some shadows on the wall from time to time.

Most of my shooting is done outdoors or with an AB so I don't have to shoot with this 800 often but there are times that I really love it.

Tim

Check out this thread https://www.nikoncafe.com/vforums/showthread.php?t=180430.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
92
Location
texas
Please excuse the dirty mirror.

1: F8 1/160
2766769100_64ba688186_o.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


2: F2 1/320
View attachment 238380

3: F5.6 1/1600
View attachment 238381

Full EXIF is included for your view.
D300, SB-800, Flash on "---"

Your turn to prove me wrong.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
27
I assume you had your camera set to FP mode for the 1/320 and faster shots - correct? (I ask because I'd like to understand if their is a difference versus not in FP mode when using wireless CLS. With my D80 when not in FP mode, as I previously posted, you can clearly see the D80's flash firing.)
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,011
Location
San Jose, CA
Loud Tiger's examples had me scratching my head. He's clearly made his point, but the remote had to receive a visible light signal from the popup while the shutter was open to know when to fire. I believe I found the answer in Ken Rockwell's discussion of fp mode.

Ken Rockwell said:
Electronic flash is an instantaneous blast of light. At full power your flash may only last for a thousandth of a second. At typical power levels and with automatic settings it's probably be closer to 1/10,000 of a second.

The mechanical focal-plane shutter of 35mm cameras are two curtains of metal or cloth that zip across the front of the film. At slow speeds like a full second they zip fast enough to appear to open and close immediately.

What's not obvious to the naked eye at fast shutter speeds is that the second curtain has to start zipping across the film right behind the first curtain. It has to do this because the curtain speed is not instantaneous. At fast shutter speeds the film is effectively exposed through a slit that zips across the film.

If you pop a flash at one of these faster speeds then only the part of the film behind the open part of the slit would be exposed to the flash.

So in Loud Tiger's example, the signal from the popup took place while the slit was traversing the upper (or lower) part of the frame, and by the time the slit reached the middle of the frame, where the popup was located, it had already fired its command.

The popup showed up in my test shots, even those taken in fp mode, because I shot in aperture priority mode, so the camera kept my shutter speed at 1/60. The differences in our test results confirms a theory we've had about fp mode. Apparently when the fp mode is selected for max sync speed, the camera only uses it when it's needed, which means at shutter speeds above the camera's native max shutter speed.

This is interesting stuff, and helps me understand fp mode better. Perhaps Loud Tiger can demonstrate otherwise, but I don't believe his technique will work for shutter speeds below the camera's max sync speed. So it entails shooting indoor pictures at high shutter speeds, eliminating contribution from the room's ambient light.
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom