Bummer - Botulism !

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by GaryW, Oct 30, 2005.

1. GaryW

GaryW Guest

I had a great idea (I thought). I made bottle labels out of a picture I recently took in Italy, and made dipping oil to give to friends. I made it with olive oil, raw garlics, rosemary, and an arbol chile.

Here is one of the labels (each label had the friend's name on it).

[​IMG]

and here is a filled bottle:

[​IMG]

After handing my bottles out to several friends, I read that putting raw garlic in oil can facilitate botulism (if the garlic had any on it to begin with). Not wanting to make my friends sick (or worse), I called them and asked them to dump it out.

Warning: Research your subject first.

Gary

2. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

3. Yes, what a shame.

I'm no expert so I don't know how real the risk is and how much is theoretical.
    I know I see garlic in oil in stores, being rather tasty and quite trendy.

Clostridium botulinum is an anaerobic organism. Fresh garlic has the potential to harbor its dormant spores. I believe the oil immersion creates a oxygen-scarce milieu where the organism has been found manufacturing its nasty little molecule and human cases of exposure to the toxin have been reported, most recently about 15 years age, so the risk is real.

Apparently salt eliminates the risk when prepared properly commercially.

You did the right thing.
    My suggetion...procede with the well conceived idea for your shot.

Mix up some dried pepper and salt and spices in one container adorned with your photo. Pair it with a nice separate bottle of a good olive oil. Mixed on the table it is my favored bread-dipping treat...being better than the pre-infused oils, in my humble fledgling culinary opinion.

4. SRA

SRA

Jul 29, 2005
    Orem, Utah
    Gary,