Buy a D2X now or wait for D200?

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by Mitchell, Aug 27, 2005.

1. I am a budding amateur with a D70. I am really intrigued by many of the features in the D2X including the fast AF and accurate WB. My only concern is the size and heft of the D2X especially when loaded with my new 28-70, f2.8 beast.

The big question is should I buy the D2X now or wait for a D200 down the road? Any thoughts on this? Anyone think the D200 will have the big. bright viewfinder of the X? Any projections on the release date of the D200?

Thanks,
    mitch

2. We can only hope.

3. Hi Mitch

You are correct - the D2X has considerable "heft". However, this acts to balance the weight of a larger lens, such as the 28-70. Whether you get the D2X or wait for the D200 is only something you can decide. Even if the D200 is announced in September, it will be quite a while before it is manufactured, and you need to consider whether you want one of the "first" ones.

I can tell you that you will love the D2X, and once you have used the professional camera, you will find it difficult to go back to the D70.

4. Mitch,
    The concensus seems to be that 1 Sept. Nikon will announce the D200 along with some other things. There is a possibility that the D2X' price could be slightly reduced. I'd wait till mid-September to make the decision.

Rich

5. I have a *real* source for Nikon information and he said that several new lenses will be introduced with the D200.
    Whatever is coming, it should be here shortly.

6. If you are happy with your D70, then I would wait until September to see what may be announced. However, is you have the money and desire to buy a D2X, there is no need to wait. Although the D200 should be an improvement over the D100, I am not sure it will be a significant improvement over the D70.

Bill

7. I nearly purchased a D2X but decided not to for now. I'll tell you all the issues I kept thinking about in my decision.