Cambria Image Dump, Please Critique

Discussion in 'Birds' started by helmet155, Aug 30, 2005.

1. These are all from my trip to Cambria over the weekend...I am new to bird shooting and this is my first attempt at shooting anything larger than a hummingbird...

I *think* there are some keepers, but would like some input...

As for processing, very little, some sharpening and cropping and that's it...

I rented a Nikon 300 f2.8 AF-S for $45 for the weekend hoping to improve my birding shots. Birding is my new passion :) although I have a lot of work to do, thank goodness for seagulls they are great practice!

One thing I find very difficult, is getting a larger bird like the pelican to have the depth of field to have the whole bird in focus, at f7.1, which most of the pelicans were shot with there is some DOF concerns...

Please critique, don't hold back...

Thanks,

Brett

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Welcome to the whacky world of birds - now you are in trouble, you're hooked and you need longer glass...

In the spirit of the critique you requested here are a few observations:

In the cormorant photo I would move it a titch to the left so it is flying into the photo, not dead centered. A catch light in the eye would add to the photo.

I like your formation shots. It is harder, but bird photos are better when the bird is approaching. In the photo with four birds I would crop to include just the middle three.

Your WB is quite different in the photos with sky, with some cyan creeping in.

3. cknight

cknight

May 2, 2005
    Madison, AL
    Nice shots Brett. I like the fourth one of the pelican.

The DOF looks pretty good in these. You won't be able to get the full wingspan in focus anyway. And the tips of the wings will often be blurred because of the flapping. I usually just try to get the head in focus.

4. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA
    In addition to what has already been offered, I add the following: