camera gear stolen - What to get?

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by fyrbolt, May 22, 2007.

1. fyrbolt

fyrbolt

Feb 2, 2007
    Las Vegas
    Arggghhh. Went to a family reunion in Chino Hills, CA. Took lots of pictures and at the end of the day when we were cleaning up, my camera bag was stolen... Lost my D70S, Sigma 17-70, 85 1.8, 28-200G, SB600 and 4 cf cards...

Now that I am starting over, what would you recommend? D200 (new), D2Hs (used for $1750) or going to the other side Canon 30D?

I don't really print larger than 8x12. I sometimes shoot in low light and shoot some sports (cycling, kids baseball and volleyball). I'm really considering the D2Hs but I sometimes crop and the 4MP has me a bit worried. I crop (not too heavily) because I'm still learning how to compose the shots. With the D200, there would be a warranty and the Canon... I don't know too much about it.

Oh, I'm selling my ATV in order to get more camera gear. It's been sitting in my garage for 8 months without being ridden. I figure I could get some money for it and use it on something that I'm enjoying right now.

2. laawaaris

laawaaris Guest

i'm a nikon shooter, but i'd have to say that if i am starting all over ... i'd try canon simply because of the superior performance at higher ISO

3. tracer

tracer Guest

I'm in the same boat and thinking of the same thing.

D200 + 17-55mm + 85mm f/1.4
    or 5D + 28-70 and 135 f/2

:/

I'm picking up stuff this sat. and still haven't decided.

4. sonton2003

sonton2003

Jan 9, 2006
    I love the 5D, I really really do, but the D200 is better suited for my style of shooting so D200 it is.

5. jimc

jimc

Jan 12, 2006
    Tampa, Fl
    Nice family.
    Get a D200, it's a good upgrade.
    Jim

6. fyrbolt

fyrbolt

Feb 2, 2007
    Las Vegas
    Thanks to those that have responded.

I'm not looking at the 5D because i don't want spend over $2k on a body. I still need lenses and stuff.... So as far as canon goes, I was thinking about the 30D