Canon photographers posting on Nikon Café…I don’t get it?

Discussion in 'Non-Nikon Mirrorless' started by Anthony747, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I’ve been using Opanda Exif on many posts here at Nikon Café and I’m completely surprised to read the many Canon equipment shots posted on the Nikon Cafe! I’m really frustrated in viewing these shots from a Canon camera because I can’t learn any thing from it because I don’t shoot Canon! I was under the impression that this was a Nikon forum. I’m a Nikon equipped photographer and I’m only interested in viewing Nikon equipped shots, so I can learn from the Nikon lens used, or camera. I would be mortified posting my Nikon shots at a Canon forum, what good would it do to the fellow Canon user?

If I’m wrong, please put me in my place.

Venting...Thanks!
    Anthony

2. mr2monster

mr2monster

Jun 29, 2007
    Arizona
    You can still learn things from images shot on a Canon... Most of the Nikon lenses have an equal in the Canon line, as do the bodies, so focal length is easily replicated using a different lens (not that it really matters as every situation is different and thus requires a different focal length)... Other than that, all of the image settings (ISO, SS, f-stop, etc) should be what you're looking for and you should be able to learn about your Nikon in that way.

Personally I dont see the big deal. I see it as a little weird, but i could also see that (as Uncle Franks post point out) there are a few long time members that may have switched over to Canon, but have built a reputation here and still enjoy the company and nice people and choose to still post their images.