Change of Attitude [UV portrait]

Discussion in 'Night, InfraRed, and UltraViolet Photography' started by nfoto, Nov 1, 2005.

1. nfoto

nfoto Guest

If you ever wonder whether sunblockers are effective, ask your model to put some on and do a portrait using UV light. The effect is really striking and might well change your attitude :biggrin:

Nikon D70, UV-Nikkor 105 mm f/4.5 lens with Hoya U-360 filter

2. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

3. nfoto

nfoto Guest

She was using a factor 10 lotion. At least that's what the label on the bottle read. I'm no expert in these matters, but did the shot mainly as a quick illustration for my workshop to show we can record "invisible" light and what meets the eye not necessarily is the entire "truth".

4. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

5. How interesting Bjorn, amazing actually. Thanks for sharing this tidbit.

6. Joseph S. Wisniewski

Joseph S. Wisniewski

Aug 11, 2005
    That's actually very high. Remember, it's a clear filter (the sunblock) over a reflecting surface (the skin). So the effectivenes of the filter is greatly increased. If 10% of UV gets through and is reflected by the skin, that UV has to make another trip through the sunblock to get to the camera. So, 1% of UV ( 10% of the origional 10%) gets back to the camera. The skin "sees" SPF 10. The camera sees SPF 100.

I like that split image look. I often do that "for real", print one print with visible, one print with IR, and cut them up and paste them together....

7. Hi Bjorn,

I am bit confused with the photo. I do understand what you achieved with the sunblock. But i am confused with how you shot it. When i look at the sharp lines of the sunblock parts. then i ask myself did she wear the sunblock or was it on a sort of glass.