Check this out...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by itsmike, Jul 9, 2008.

1. Which Nikon bodies will support 8GB cards?

2. PeteZ28

PeteZ28

Oct 5, 2007
    Newtown, PA
    My D200 handles them fine, I would imagine any of that era or later should support it, and probably some earlier models.

Then again, one has to ask oneself; do you WANT to trust your images to a $29 memory card???

3. Phillip Ino

Phillip Ino

Nov 26, 2007
    Austin
    Ooohhhh....I don't know about that deal....I think I'd rather pay the premium for a Sandisk or the like. I wouldn't put a 'cheap' card in my expensive camera.

4. Not to be a heretic, or anything, but I've been using the A-data 16GB cards in my D200 for many months now. No problems so far. No moving parts.

When I first got them I had the same anxieties so I filled them up with files from my computer and transferred them back and forth, formatting in camera each time, several times. I didn't find any internet chatter about them being less reliable, failing more often, etc than others. They definitely aren't the fastest cards around, but that's not an especially high priority for me.

I'm not sure that the biggest brand names are always better in every circumstance. Well directed marketing is very influential. Just look at the insanity around bottled water.

5. Phillip Ino

Phillip Ino

Nov 26, 2007
    Austin
    Well my decision is just a personal preference :smile:

6. panda81

panda81

Feb 7, 2008
    Texas
    Mm, I concur.

7. PeteZ28

PeteZ28

Oct 5, 2007
    Newtown, PA
    I've owned lost of cheap things that worked great....

... for a little while.