Chicago White Sox vs. Texas Rangers

I was very blessed to be given credentials to shoot the Chicago White Sox vs Texas Rangers game at the U.S. Cellular Field in Chicago. I began shooting images of 38 high school graduates who were voted All-Area for their accomplishments in baseball. We entered the ballpark, then went into a conference room where the boys met Chicago White Sox pitcher Matt Thornton. I shot several images of Thornton addressing the boys and fielding several questions. Then we all went onto the field where the boys were introduced to the crowd. Once the ceremony ended, Olympian and cancer survivor Lance Armstrong and his people walked onto the field to film the introduction to his Stand Up To Cancer promotion. They conducted three takes before the packed crowd.

Once the game began, I started shooting from the first baseline photogs well, then switched to the third base well in the fifth inning and stayed there through the rest of the game. Here are a few images which were shot with a D300 and 300mm f/2.8 VR lens on a monopod. I shoot from ISO 1600 to ISO 2000.

My sincerest thanks to Steve King for helping me prepare for this shooting opportunity. Steve....thanks for everything!

Here are a few shots...

1. Sox pitcher H. Vazquez tosses the ball to first baseman Paul Konerko to hold the runner.
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

2. Sox pitcher Vazquez winds up for his throw to the plate.
View attachment 226413

3. Vazquez fires a 94 mph fastball.
View attachment 226414

4. White Sox catcher A.J. Pierzynski drives a liner into left field.
View attachment 226415

5. White Sox fire baseman Paul Konerko drives a ball deep flyball to left field.
View attachment 226416

6. White Sox leftfielder Carlos Quentin is upset with himself as hit pops up in the infield to end the inning.
View attachment 226417

7. White Sox outfielder Nick Swisher keeps his eyes on the ball.
View attachment 226418