Ciruclar Polarizer Question

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by natelam, May 18, 2005.

1. I'm a newbie with the polarizers. I originally bought one from a local shop (B+W F-pro) then returned it because I realized it was ridiculously over priced.

When playing with this polarizer, turning the front changed the darkness of the element from clear, to dark (almost like a graduated filter).

My new filter (B+W Slim) circular polarizer, I don't have this same effect, turning the front element doesn't have any obvious effect on the filter (except probably just to change the angle of polarization).

My question is, why did the first filter do this, and why doesn't the second? I've never had one before so I'm not sure which is correct, and why one would behave this way and not the other. The only difference between the two are slim and non-slim versions.

Help!

2. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Were you wearing sunglasses when you examined the first filter? 8)

When you cross polarization planes at right angles to one another, the filter goes dark. If you weren't wearing polarized glasses, were you looking at it with reflected illumination? Reflected light gets polarized too.

3. I was examining it indoors, with a desklamp on, but I'm doing the same exact thing, in the same exact location with the new filter...can't seem to simulate the effect.

Perhaps it was just the right moment with just the right lighting? Nothing wrong with my new filter right? What's the best way to test it? View an LCD clock with it and see if the numbers dissapear at the right angle?

4. Just realized the possibility that the first filter they sold me could have been a linear polarizer even though the box said circular (the seal was broken). Odd.

5. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona