Color space question...

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by Medic1210, Aug 14, 2008.

1. I'm a total novice when it comes to color management and color space. While editing my last wedding photos, I noticed that my ACR is set to output my NEF files to CS3 in Adobe RGB color space. Well I didn't realize this until just now as I began to upload some of them to the web. Of course, when they save in RGB, they look flat on the web since they're not in SRGB. My question is, should I continue to output and edit them in RGB and save in RGB before sending to the print lab, and then convert the smaller version to SRGB for web viewing, or should I just output the NEF file to CS3 in SRGB to begin with, to send to the lab and to upload? I hope my question is clear. As it is, I've edited a lot of photos in RGB, and saved the smaller versions in RGB as well, so needless to say, they look flat on my webpage. I want them to look good on the web as well as in print. I don't print myself, so what should I do? Should I send the lab files edited and saved as RGB, or can I edit them as SRGB and be done with it? Thanks in advance.

2. My understanding is that aRGB has more colors available than sRGB. If your lab can handle aRGB (and the better ones can), then that's where I'd leave my photos for printing. sRGB for web, definitely, and aRGB for print, if possible. :smile: I work in aRGB (no matter the final output) and then convert to sRGB for the web.

3. Your post is kinda confusing. You keep saying "RGB" Which one? AdobeRGB Or sRGB?

Send your lab whatever color space they ask for in their FAQ or info page. I have encountered one lab that wanted Adobe RGB, all the others want sRGB.