Critique Color vs BW composition. Help me learn. Thanks!!!

Ok, I am primarily a black and white photographer. I shoot, compose, and think of scenes in black and white. When I try to go to color it often just plain fails- even though there is often a decent bw image there.
Just as an example. I posted this image yesterday and several people pointed out they did not like the ripple running through the bird. I appreciate the honesty, and that is how I learn what people look at.
That is actually why I post here so much- I respect the feedback. Since covid I do not have any local groups to bounce some of my crazy stuff off of.
So, I did a very quick- one click- black and white conversion. I then did a quick and dirty take the ripple band out. Not pretty, but good enough for these questions.
In color I can see why it gets in the way.
In black and white I actually prefer the ripple as it carries my eye from the left and carries me right into the sandhill. I remember seeing it while I was shooting- and although I had no choice at that moment, I actually liked it.
How do others see it in the bw images?
I am trying to understand how I see and compose.
Thanks for your comments and time.
By the way- fire away!! My skin is thick.

Color image:
bosque thur am 4737.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Quick black and white:
bosque thur am 4737bw.jpg

Central ripple removed: (yes it is rough, but good enough to display the differences)
bosque thur am 4737bwnostripe.jpg

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen
I wouldn't eliminate the ripples, just try toning them down a bit. Ideally the bird would have been flying over the patterned water in the foreground = OR the grasses in the background.