Communion

I wasn't sure if this was the right place to put these. They were supposed to be more formal but I am far from a professional. I have never used outdoor flash before. I went to a Communion and took a few of the child before the party. I definitely had some problems with exposure. I was trying to use some fill flash but many came out overexposed. I was using my D300 with the sb-600 with a lumiquest bouncer attached. Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D lens.

Here were my settings: Aperture Priority f2.8, ISO 200, Shutter 1/250. I think they were overexposed because the the shutter couldn't go higher because of the flash sync speed. I wanted the aperture low to blur the background. It didn't really work out.

How could I have done better with these? They're kind of a hot mess.

5751738045_56c7b7b037_b.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

5752284084_7c1434006a_b.jpg

5752289342_a21febfdb3_b.jpg

Here are the rest Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I think number 3 is the best. the only nit pick I have would be her smile.

Number 2 seems a little soft and in number 1, the tree trunk on the right that is out of focus is distracting to me. It also seems a little soft but she has the best smile in that shot.

They are all good shots, just nitpicks :smile:

Using aperture is the correct way to blur the background, you had the right idea there. But while the aperture stays the same, the depth of field is effected by both the BGs distance from the subject, as well as the camera's distance from the subject.

I agree with Scott that #3 is the best. I like the pose and the setting.

When I'm using my flash outdoors as a fill flash I normally will have it turned down to a