Compatibility and recommendations for high speed photography trigger system.

I am new to the world of high speed flash photography. I am looking to take high speed shots of some objects being dropped in a splash tank against black background, much like a food photographers set up. I need to purchase a trigger and am looking at the Miops Smart trigger system as it has many different ways to trigger and I want to use both sound and laser. The Miops looks to be a pretty versatile system, which is good because I would like to expand the applications in the future.

My equipment:

Z6
70-200mm f2.8 AF-S VR ED
SB 800 & SB600

1 Large Aquarium 30" x 18" x 12"

What I know I'll need:
Miops Smart trigger with Dongle for iphone
Black Backdrop and stands
Black Table cloth
Laser pointer

What I'm unsure if I need:
More powerful strobes?
TTL1 Pocket Wizard
TT5 Flex
Any other recommendations to add to the list.

Any input is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

I've successfully used the MIOPS Mobile Remote for a few years mostly to release the shutter using a voice command when both of my hands are being used. I also used the motion-activated shutter release to capture popcorn dropping into the scene. That's the earlier version of the product they now call MIOPS RemotePlus. It's similar to MIOPS Smart though not designed for the really high-speed stuff. You may only need the less expensive RemotePlus, though I wouldn't know without checking out the details again.

I purchased the MIOPS Splash and didn't get around to using it until nine months later. The hardware was defective. They quickly sent me another unit that was the later version. Its hardware also didn't work properly but had different symptoms. They quickly provided a full refund. I really do think the hardware issues were an anomaly. Regardless, their customer support through the entire process was very cordial, quick and efficient.

Last edited:
What I'm unsure if I need:
More powerful strobes?
TTL1 Pocket Wizard