Comtemplating a New lens

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Desert Rat, Nov 20, 2005.

1. I have been contemplating a new lens for several months and narrowed it down to two possible choices.
    Looking at the :

Nikkor 500mm F4 AFS
    Nikkor 200-400mm F/4 VR lens

Been hearing lots of differeing opinions on both of these lenses...

Any recommendations

Mostly used for wildlife and other things...

I have been leaning toward the 200-400mm VR since it seems more versitile

THanks

2. the versitility of the 200-400 is the whole reason I selected it over the 500. Being able to reframe or zoom out to aquire the subject is priceless and coupled with the 1.5 CCd digital factor makes it really reach. Plus add a TC and high speed crop..... oh well I think you are getting my point
    Good luck either way. Can not wait to see what you do with it.
    Dave

3. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX
    For me the choice was easy, I prefer the versatility of the zoom. The 500 doesn't even have an aperture advantage, unlike comparing the 300 VR where it comes down to zoom/reach versus f/2.8. If you were a birder or primarily shoot in situations where you need as much reach as possible, maybe the 500 would be a good choice. But the 200-400 gives you more fexibility plus the benefit of VR when shooting on a monopod or "loose" tripod (ie gimbal head).

4. Reason I am asking is I was out with helmet (Brett) shooting relatively large birds and talking with a few dare I say Canon shooters about lenses. They both had 500mm F4 IS lenses... Was asking about a zoom and you know what tey say.. Get the 500mm F/4. But I think that was because Canon did not or does not make a 200-400mm similar lens..

I personally like the idea of a 200-400mm since it is quite versitile, but I wanted to find some more lens reviews of it? Any suggestions?

5. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX