Concert/Musician Photography ideas...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DavidM, Mar 14, 2005.

1. Today I got a call from an old friend I had played in a band with a while back, and when he found out that I have gone off the deep end with photography he asked if I would mind trying to get some shots of him for a web site he's planning to put together.

Mind you, I'm a novice in general (with photography, anyway) and other than shooting a live event for my brother at an outdoor gig one afternoon, I've never done anything like this. I agreed to do it under the condition that he would get no guarantees for anything worthwhile on his website... :)

Now that I'm already in over my head, I thought I'd ask the experts here for some ideas on how to shoot a musician (drummer in this case) in a typical nighttime club environment. I'm assuming that I'll have to push the ISO up and use the fastest glass I can get my hands on. Right now, that would probably mean using my 70-200VR, 17-35, and 50 1.8.

Any thoughts, ideas, or experiences you'd like to share? Does Preset WB work in this kind of environment? Thoughts on angles? Does flash ever work for these kinds of shots? The list goes on and on...

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    David,

Playing the piano sounds easier. :>))

Good luck in yoour venture. However, I think you will do fine.

regards
    gale

3. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    David,

I'm certainly no expert, but as you say, fast glass is the key. I'll hit up Ponygurl (she shoots a bunch, as in thousands of shots, of low light concert stuff) to see if she can give you any hints. I know that she has basically gone for fast glass.

Other than that, I know from seeing your work that you'll do great.... :wink:

Frank

4. Thanks for the votes of confidence, Gale and Frank. I'm still in need of advice, though. Anyone have any ideas?

5. ponygurl

ponygurl

Jan 25, 2005
    Madison, AL