Considering new strobes . . .

I have been using AlienBees for several months (B400's) and I'm looking to move up to higher quality lights (those with more consistent color, consistent output from shot to shot, and brighter modeling lights - 250-300w). Please note that I love the value AB's represent and I'm not slamming them here. :)

My goal is to move to a light brand that has a good range of accessories, solid build quality (probably a no brainer with those listed), and consistent power/color temp. I'm shooting portraits and a few weddings this year so I think I can use more "reliable" lights.

So far I have looked at Elinchrom 600DX, Photogenic 1250DR, Hensel Integra 500, and White Lightning X1600 (I know this brand is sister to AB's).

So here are my questions:

1) Are these strobes too powerful for digital (my D2h is ISO 200 - I expect to use a D2x in the future with ISO 100)? I tend to use large modifiers (47-inch Octabox as an example) and shoot portraits.

2) Am I missing a brand/model that I should consider?

Thanks for any help.

Joe

You have picked some of the best in your lineup of brands to consider. I have heard lots of good things about the Elinchrom but do not have any first hand knowledge.

PGB

Birger, (bpetersen) is the guy to ask. He has the Elinchron setup.

If you want to get rid of your AB's let me know. I might be interested.

Thanks,

greyflash said:
You have picked some of the best in your lineup of brands to consider. I have heard lots of good things about the Elinchrom but do not have any first hand knowledge.

Thanks Gordon. I'll never complain when the decision is between quality products. :) Compromise is the only frustration. :wink:

Regards,

Joe

Patrick Bramlett said:
Birger, (bpetersen) is the guy to ask. He has the Elinchron setup.

If you want to get rid of your AB's let me know. I might be interested.

Thanks,

Thanks for the info Patrick, I'll send him a PM.