Critique Cooked Octopus and Greek Salad

Yesterday I made a photo of most of the raw makings of this salad that can be viewed at https://www.nikoncafe.com/threads/makings-of-greek-salad-with-octopus.317592/ . Today I cooked the octopus, made the Greek salad, and combined them. I'll serve this to my friends tomorrow for lunch.

Setup
A small continuous-light lamp fitted with a diffusion sock was very close to the scene on the front left and a white reflector above the scene brightened the top area and the shadows throughout. A polarizer controlled glare on the octopus.

Mike 2019-07-22--002-S.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Last edited:
Thank you to Nick and Lyndee!

You really are a chef, for sure, Mike!
The meal was delicious. However, I'm almost always a cook and rarely a chef. For me, the difference between a chef and a cook is that a chef designs recipes and a cook uses recipes designed by others. The very few times I've "played" being a chef, I was trying to replicate a recipe I had enjoyed in a restaurant.

Thanks, Jim!

I'm afraid the food doesn't appeal to me.
One of my lunch guests won't eat octopus, not because of its taste, instead because the species is regarded as being very smart. I chose this dish because she was able to enjoy the Greek salad without the meat while her husband and I enjoyed it with the meat.

Do you drink wine with that?
We didn't drink wine because it was only lunch time and all of us at the lunch rarely drink it before the evening. If I had served wine, it would have been a bright, acidic white such as Pinot Gris or Albarino. When the Greek seasoning is ample, serving a Gewurtztraminer would be a fun twist. When I cook the octopus with lots of paprika and serve it over cumin potatoes, I pair it with a fresh, fruity red wine such as Barbera or Sangiovese. Both the red and white pairings work really well with their respective dishes.

Last edited: