Critique Countryside buildings

I shared two of these photos in my post about my hike two days ago. It was suggested by Ken that I convert the buildings into black and white. I'm still very new to black and white conversions. I gave these a try. I thought that a lot of contrast might really show off the textures. I would love to hear your thoughts. Since the sky was nearly the same color as the snow, it made for a bit of a challenge, but at the same time, it let the buildings really stand out. So that's what I was going for here. I converted in Silver EFEX Pro. I didn't use any presets but did the conversions manually using global sliders and with some control points.

DSC_2852-Edit.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

DSC_2859-Edit2.jpg

DSC_2844-Edit.jpg

Very nice set, Terri! The contrast seems pleasantly normal to me and the textures in the buildings are appealing.

Considering that you're new to making monochrome images, consider placing some control points on the snow and taking control of the pixels by aggressively bringing out the shadow tones. Doing so will add more interest and more of a three-dimensional feel to the snow. Ironically, doing so will also make the white tones look whiter even though they've been unchanged. Even if doing all that proves to be nothing more than an exercise that produces an appearance you don't like, it will probably be helpful to know that capability exists for use in other photos in your future.

I converted in Silver EFEX Pro. I didn't use any presets but did the conversions manually using global sliders and with some control points.

I rarely use presets other than my own custom presets that add toning to the image. The few times that I do use a preset, I use it only as a point of departure; I customize the settings to achieve the look I want.

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen