Creativity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by allen_a_george, May 8, 2005.

1. allen_a_george

allen_a_george

Apr 30, 2005
    Waterloo
    How does everyone figure out what to photograph and when?

It's a beautiful summer day here in suburbia and I was out for a bit with my D70. Took a few photos - but nothing really 'clicked' and I never felt like I'd taken a keeper.

Is it simple because I'm new to using the camera and I'm not sure that my technical approach is correct? I'm curious...

I'm not expecting miracles - I just want to know how everyone else gets over it.

PS. According to Freeman Patterson's book Learning to see Creatively it would be good to block some time apart for photography, relaxing, and then going out... Has that actually worked for the Cafe members?

Thanks!

2. pbenedic

pbenedic

Mar 9, 2005
    My approach...

shoot until either...
    a]the battery wears out (good luck with Nikon systems)
    or
    d]the CF is full

then sort 'em later

You'll be surprised at what cool shots you can get.

Ah, the wonders of digital.

3. That's the problem...you're in suburbia. There's no culture around track housing, malls and Olive Garden in every corner. Go on a day trip somewhere with more culture, texture and individuality and you'll be surprised at the photo ops! :)

PS-You don't learn creativity...it's something you feel. Any book that makes such a claim is a farce!

4. Greg

Greg

Apr 5, 2005
    Fayetteville, TN
    If you suffer from a lack of creation (as I do) Keep shooting. sometimes you just get lucky (another advantage of the 4 gig cards). Spend some time on one scene. different angles, exposures compositions. You will be surprised that you actually will start to "see" things differently. review what you took and make mental notes of what you like and improve on it.