critique needed

what do u guys think? this was taken with a 50mm f1.8 lens taken a 1/125 sec. @ f4.5 ISO 160. i'm still a newbie..so i'd appreciate any comments i could get cuz i wanna get better :) thanks!

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Youngsville (The edge of nowhere), North Carolina
I think it's a beautifully composed image with nice bokeh. I think if you do a Levels adjustment to 0/1.14/246 you'll see the midtones come to life.

THANK YOU for not posting a portrait taken in direct sunlight! It's refreshing to see someone who exhibits sound basic photographic technique. Just look at that avatar! This person eve knows how to hold a camera. There is hope after all.

Keep posting... we need more people like you setting a good example.

Hi Anna, and welcome to the Cafe!
This little cutie is totally adorable! Is she yours? I sort of question why you chose to shoot in Manual mode if you're not that experienced with the camera. Heck, I shot with my 1st DSLR for 3 yrs before going primarily to Aperture mode! (That's too long!)
The pic's a little underexposed. You could've prevented that by either going to a higher ISO, or increasing the Exposure with Exp Compensation, or using a slower shutter speed, but that's not very practical with a child. I was able to correct the shot to some degree increasing the Highlights and Midtone Levels in PS, and also, the White Balance is off imo,(what was the WB set to?) I added a fair amt of red and some yellow using Color Balance also in PS.(adjust these to taste). Lastly, I used the Dodge tool in PS to bring out a little detail in her Irises. Also, I added a small amt of Unsharp Mask to compensate for reduction to web.
Here's the results, along with your original. I'll remove it from my pbase page after you've seen it.
Tweaked version:

Your original: