D200 for Sports ?

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by asterix, Jun 19, 2007.

1. asterix

asterix

Jun 19, 2007
    UK
    Hi folks, Im a newbie here, go easy.

Just wondered if there was any general setting I should do in camera for sports, Mine seems very soft images. Using 70-200 2.8 glass but just needs alot of pp afterwards. Is there any advice please?

Many thanks

PS, would of posted this in settings at top but that aint been used for 6 months

2. Hi, I think that you need to explain what sort of sports you are trying to photograph...in order to get any useful advice. Some sports you want to freeze the action others not... Daytime..? Evening...? Indoors...? outdoors...? etc etc etc. Give us a clue and will try to help..

3. asterix

asterix

Jun 19, 2007
    UK
    very sorry, I said go easy, lol.

I generally shoot rugby, football and the likes, Mainly daytime, Outdoors in stadiums.

4. i used to shoot sports in ss priority but now it's always aperture. The 70-200 is very nice at f4. Back down to 2.8 if the backgrounds are messy. Keep iso at 200 if at f4 your ss is at least 1/500 and up iso if not

5. IMO it really doesn't matter what sport, if you have people (or even animals) in motion it's the same...

6. Hi, Did'nt mean to seem hard on you, I agree with Randy to a point... When I shoot animals and people I try to keep shutter as high as possible...To freeze the action, sometimes this may mean upping the iso200/400/600 (you will have to experiment with this). Personally I dont use any of the auto settings (WB, ISO) I prefer to do this myself, check and adjust as nessesary. For motorsport I try the opposite, keeping shutter speeds below 1/500,to get some motion blur in the background, this does however requires good panning technique, which takes practice. My first time out I took 20-30 pics for 1 that was worth keeping. The only way you will get better is to keep practicing and have fun...

7. asterix

asterix

Jun 19, 2007
    UK