D200 GREAT!!!!! - but battery poor

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by MarkM, Dec 22, 2005.

1. MarkM

MarkM

Dec 20, 2005
    Tampa Florida
    Hello all, I am new to this, and, thanks to the D200, I have stepped up and away from Canon (although, my A1,T70 & T90 served me well for many years as a freelance wedding photographer). My first digital toys were the Canon S50 and the Nikon 5700. Thanks to Ritz Camera & Fed Ex, I have been playing with my first REAL digital camera, the D200 since Saturday the 17th. I have the SB800 and MC-36 remote cord so far, the 18-200 should arrive tomorrow (still waiting on the grip - sigh) - I must thank my friend and coworker, Joe Martin (also a member here) for lending me his 50 f/1.8d in order for me to play. The camera is awesome to say the least and the built in flash totally impressed me - I used full auto at iso 100 and will post pics as soon as I learn how to use the software to crop & resize - shooting in raw mode resulted in 16mb files - lol. The built in flash appeared perfect as close as 10' to subject - no noticable washout and great coverage at approx. 24' away from subject.

I was a little surprised that with less than 200 actuations, the battery is down to 13%. I am hoping that the reason for the initial poor battery performance is due to 1) being new and needing to be used completely a few times to cycle it up and 2) excessive use of the LCD display to examine everything the user can adjust - we all know how power hungry the displays can be.

Anyway, thats all for now, time to play and make room for the lens arrival - lol.

Happy Holidays to all.

May the spirit of the season touch your soul and hold you safe
    As the light warms your heart and guides you all into a wonderful new year

2. RForshey

RForshey Guest

Welcome to the cafe, and congratulations for leaving the darkside:wink:

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Welcome and glad you here at the Cafe