D200 Test Shots(Newbie) Critique Help please

Attached are some shots I took this weekend on my D200.
I am new to the D200 and am trying to learn.\
I could use some help as they just do not look that great compared to other photos posted on the forum.
I was using a Nikkor 18-200 VR

3758626718_3b796dd227_b.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

View attachment 387191
3757804833_a833f75eb9_b.jpg

I linked these for you - Geoff the moderator.

Last edited by a moderator:
You forgot the tag at the beginning of each photo :)

If you're new to photography, take some time to learn the basics of photography: Lighting, composition, etc.

1. The sign in the backround is distracting, it's placed in a more attractive place in the picture than the main subject, and is a lighter object surrounded by a dark backround, so to me, it stands out much more than the main subject.

For 2 and 3, they don't do it for me, but I can't put my finger as to exactly why.

socrdude,

You don't have any exif data on the pics; with no f/stop, shutter speed, ISO, focal length, etc. I can't help you there.

Also, none of the pics look sharp to me.

On the second photo, it seems the focus is sharper on the stem than on the flower, and/or the red channel may be clipped (blown out, overexposed--check your histogram).

Secondly, your subject would benefit from more subject isolation from the background, but that is harder to achieve with that lens. Depending on your focal length, perhaps you could have zoomed closer to the long end (200mm).

What time of day did you shoot? Shoot early morning or late in the day for "magic light." Also, try shooting flowers from an angle where light comes through the petals, instead of falling directly on them. In other words, put the subject between you and the light, instead of putting yourself between the subject and the light.