D2x CAM 2000 AF Module... How does it work?

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by agape01, Nov 11, 2005.

1. Hello fellow cafe mates....

This is my first thread in this forum and I hope that you guys can bear with my nikon newbie questions.

I have been shooting the D2x for like 7 months now and I am trying to figure out why my shots are not sharp at all. Even if I shoot my images at high shutter speeds, my images are not sharp and I have come to this inclination that I do not understand how does the AF module work.

Nikon has got 4 focusing modes. I was wondering whether can anyone share when do I use each mode for what kind of situation based on your experiences?

The second part to this inquiry is the CSM settings. Namely A1 through A4. In nikonian.org, there was a write up on this and I am wondering whether how many of you find those settings to be accurate.

If they are not accurate, then what settings are you guys using.

Much advise would be greatly appreciated. :smile:

2. Not to stray (to far) from your questions, but have you updated your firmware yet? It's made a significant improvement in my case and now most shots are now dead accurate focus-wise. I couldn't say that before even after two trips to Nikon. If you have updated the firmware and are still experiencing soft focus your camera may need to be serviced if setting changes don't help.

3. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

4. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    Caleb,

I'm sure that you will get answers to your questions here, but if you don't get them all answered by the time I get home from work, I'll try to help.

I'll check back in about 6 hours. :smile:

5. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005

6. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    Hey Paul,