D3: Buffer rate is slow!!

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by mongoose777, Sep 11, 2008.

1. It appears that after firing around 8 to 10 shots, the buffer in the camera appears to be full and struggling to take in more shots.
    Ex. When football team first comes out, I can only get a few players coming towards me and can only then get just a few shots (maybe 4+ shots) of cheerleaders because the buffer is apparently full and/or the card is still writing.
    I already checked the max (130) allowed for the buffer. I must be missing something or the cards I'm using are just too slow, although I did use the sandisk III on the MK III with no problems. I am new to Nikon and could very well be missing something here. I can expect that kind of performance while using tiff or raw files, but I only use just jpeg files from fine to normal size.
    I've had the MKIII and noticed that the buffer rate of canon's is by far much better, but wondered if I am doing something wrong. I tried to turn off the D-Active lighting and high ISO noise filter and nothing seems to change. I do however use the sandisk extreme III 16gig & Ridata 16gig 233x cards, but either one is just as slow as the other. I have already heard about the $400/500 upgrade, but not interested in spending more money.
    Any comments or solutions.

2. Nikon now offer a buffer upgrade for $300.

3. Randy

Randy

May 11, 2006
    i rarely burst but when i do it seems like i burst as long as i want w/o a backup so there must be something wrong if
    4-5 is all u can get....sorry i can't be of any help

4. I don't think he needs the buffer upgrade.

I would suggest trying a Sandisk IV card to see if there is any difference first. The D300 and D3 take advantage of the UDMA on the Sandisk IV cards.

Also you could be using an older Extreme III card, check Rob Galbraith's write speed on the various cards.
    http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/camera_multi_page.asp?cid=6007-9255