1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

D300 w/ 18-200mm VR...Action Shot Settings?

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by ravencr, Aug 31, 2008.

1. ravencr

ravencr

Aug 30, 2008
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Hello,

I'm brand new to shooting with a DSLR, Nikon, or pretty much any high end camera. :) 

I've read the entire manual, and I'm partially through an outside book a lot of folks recommended, as well. I'll be honest that I'm used to having a running man setting to capture the action shots in a crisp manner, but with the D300 it doesn't have anything like that.

I'd like to be able to capture crisp shots whether the vehicles I'm shooting are coming straight at me or passing by right in front of me. The biggest thing I struggle with is popping off that perfectly timed one shot instance of a jump, for example, like the little one below. I find that it does fine most of the time I'm panning along with the vehicle while shooting in either CL or CH. The part I need help with is when I'm shooting single shots, maybe with the remote SB800 to get that one perfect shot when it's flying past past me.

What I'd like to be able to do is set the shutter speed to the proper level, then let the camera control the ISO and Aperature automatically, but I haven't figured out how to do it properly. All of these shots below were shot in P mode, and the only things I had changed was the WB to direct sunlight. They were alos shot in standard vivid, because as you can see the vehicle is bright, but the surroundings were rather blah from all the dust making the little bit of green brown.

I guess my questions rely around the following:

1) How do I manually set the shutter speed and let the camera do the rest automatically?