D40 Lens Recommendation

Hello all! I'm still a beginner to all this camera stuff, but I was wondering if you members of the board could give me some recommendations on lenses that do AF with a D40. I was looking at the 50mm 1.8, however it does not AF with a D40, or so I've heard. I don't really mind not having the AF ability, but I figure I'll be saying to myself "I wish this focused automatically. I'm also looking at the Sigma 30mm 1.4, but looking for a used one because of it's price tag.

So hopefully you guys/girls could recommend me some good lenses. I'm somewhat on a budget, but hopefully I could sell some of my shoes to make some money. Thanks!

Even though the 50mm 1.4 does not autofocus, it is probably (in my opinion) the best lens you can get for the price. There are tons of threads on here about this lens. Plus you can practice your manual skills. Definitely worth it! I use this lens more than any other so far, and I have a D60. aside from that, I would say it depends on what your focus is going to be...

Will you be doing bird watching? If so, a large prime, or deep zoom (like the 70-300mm) might be best...
Are you doing portraits? then probably a prime lens with a low f number (like the 50mm or the 30mm you said.)
If you are doing alot of traveling, then get a versatile lens like the 18-200mm or maybe the 18-135mm.

It really depends on what your niche is. Basically I am going to buy the above mentioned so that I have all my bases covered, then I will invest in the more "pro" glass afterwards.

I have the 18-200mm VR and I havent taken it off. the 50mm will be my next purchase. I say start with those 2.

The 50mm f/1.8 will be very difficult to focus manually when using it wide open in poor light. If you're looking to use it in low light, the Sigma 30mm is worth the extra over the 50 as it's faster, will AF, and has a more usable focal length.