D500 Firmware Update

Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
622
Location
Syracuse, NY
I will update and try it again. Never could get it to work and had to resort to using an Eye-Fi card which are no longer available.

My D750 never has a problem with the old WMU app. Not sure why Nikon moved away from it.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
956
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Real Name
Ian
I will update and try it again. Never could get it to work and had to resort to using an Eye-Fi card which are no longer available.
Yes, I've found SnapBridge to be useless on the D500. Frustrating really, as it's nice to be able to pull across a JPEG for a quick phone-edit and then post to social media or send to friends/family.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
4,764
Location
Alaska
Have to grab this upgrade. I have had mine "stop responding" now and then after shooting a burst. Rarely happens but did occur at a few critical times. I blamed the grip but maybe just the firmware issue.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
956
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Real Name
Ian
Has anyone updated their D500? Is SnapBridge any better?

I generally don't update my camera if the update doesn't benefit me (if it ain't broke, don't fix it). However, if Nikon has finally managed to get it working properly at 3 years, I would "roll the dice" and update both of my cameras.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2017
Messages
1,242
Location
Central Ohio
Real Name
Andrew
I'm going to try and update mine tonight. One I get off work I have an hour and a half before I have to hit the soccer pitch.

I've found snapbridge to work well on the Z6, so of they can get there with the D500, that would be awesome.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
622
Location
Syracuse, NY
Updated mine tonight.

Snapbridge works for downloading photos via Wi-Fi now in a controlled environment. I will have to see how it works in the field this weekend. It takes about 30 seconds for SnapBridge to connect to D500 via Wi-Fi. About the same as the Eye-Fi cards I used. Once connected, I can scroll through the photos on the camera, select the ones I want and download. I can select a 2MP size or full resolution. I would only need the 2MP size during a sporting event. The pics download very fast.

What I like about it is that I do not have to use my iPhone's Setting/Wi-Fi to first verify a connection. SnapBridge does that internally.

I am elated. It will be interesting how the SnapBridge Wi-Fi connection works in a stadium full of other Wi-Fi networks and smart phones. Eye-Fi and WMU would slow way down in transferring under those conditions..

I have not tested remote capabilities. I'll leave that to one of you. :)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
956
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Real Name
Ian
I was able to successfully update both of my D500’s. Unfortunately, SnapBridge is still a piece of garbage.

I even did a full reset of the paired devices from my iPhone, and his is what i get when tying to set up one of the recently update cameras.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2017
Messages
1,242
Location
Central Ohio
Real Name
Andrew
Just tested the new firmware with Snapbridge.

Pixel 2 XL latest Android build. Works flawlessly, like on the Z6. Very happy with the performance. Super quick previews and was able to download images quickly. Bluetooth connectivity and Wi-Fi both functioned as I expected them to.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
6,360
Location
N Idaho
Just tested the new firmware with Snapbridge.

Pixel 2 XL latest Android build. Works flawlessly, like on the Z6. Very happy with the performance. Super quick previews and was able to download images quickly. Bluetooth connectivity and Wi-Fi both functioned as I expected them to.
I have the 2XL also, is yours on Pie or Q?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,995
Location
Tacoma, WA
Real Name
Ken St John
It must be the fact that I'm on an iPhone then. Latest iOS, but the camera has an extremely difficult time successfully pairing with the phone.
Have you removed ("Forget This Device") the D500 in BT Settings? Try that prior to trying to re-pair the phone after the update.

If that doesn't help, try this: remove any connections with the D500 in BT settings, then go to SETTINGS -> GENERAL -> RESET and Tap the RESET NETWORK SETTINGS and do a reset. Your phone will do a restart on its own. I have used this several times in the past to resolve both BT, cell, and Wifi connection issues and each time it has been quite successful. FWIW - this is also step 1 if you call AppleCare with a networking or BT linking problem, so ....

NOTE: Don't tap the other resets as you may end up with a "new" phone as they can clear everything on your phone!! There will be dire warnings that popup!! If you're just resetting the network, just say OK!!

NOTE 2: After reseting your network settings, you will need to rejoin your wifi network, so make sure you have your password handy. It also resets your phone's name to "iPhone" so if you have a specific name already, as I do (Ken's iPhone XR) you'll need to re-enter that in the ABOUT section (helps me ID who's phone is connected in our car ... mine or my wife's!). Although the reset does clear wifi network info, it will not clear established BT connections. Problem BT connections must be removed manually ("Forget this device" in BT settings).

Ken
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom