D6 First Impressions

I'll start by saying these are my observations based on a 3 hour outing. While I appreciate the studio side by side tests, that isn't real life for me. I use my 600 EFL with a tC 14EIII about 80% of the time so I'm familiar with the performance of the D5 on that combo. As I know what the D5 can do with that lens, it seemed like a good first test to use the D6 on that lens combo.
Overall feel is the same as the D5, menus are almost the same, the D6 has more items. I set up my D6 the same as my D5 so any differences should be obvious. The best place for this first outing is by an osprey nest that I've been photographing for several years. I'm familiar with the location and how the D5 handles the area. I shoot either in manual or auto ISO. Today I chose auto ISO as it was mostly overcast with constantly variable light.

First I noticed that the metering mode (highlight preservation) seemed to trend toward underexposure. Once the sun came out, metering seemed to act like the D5. I never thought the highlight preservation on the D5 really worked, but it seems like it have been tweaked a bit on the D6.

Bursts of 14 fps sound really impressive and I have to say I got some extra shots that had great timing. Even 12 fps can miss that one great shot in between. I did note that the D6 is much easier to squeeze off just one frame in continuous high where the D5 it was almost impossible to get a single shot; I usually got 2 or 3. Little refinements.