D600 video question

Yesterday, I took my first video shots with my D600. I had been shooting raw photos before I did the video. My videos are very washed out with little saturation and contrast. Do I need to take my camera out of raw before shooting the videos? I am a total newbie to DSLR video. I have done some on my Olympus OM-D E-M5 and they were always very contrasty and saturated. Any tips on settings for a newbie would be appreciated so much.

Hi Terri,

Having the camera set for raw stills won't affect the video. Your white balance selection will impact the video footage as will the use of picture control profiles like these:

http://www.similaar.com/foto/flaat-picture-controls/index.html

If you want the equivalent of "raw" video and you are really feeling ambitious, you can also use a Ninja 2 recorder to capture the uncompressed HDMI stream from the sensor to get 10-bit footage that can be color-graded in an editing program like Premiere Pro. They've come down in price quite a bit and work great for the D600 and D800.

Sean

Sean

Hi Terri,

Having the camera set for raw stills won't affect the video. Your white balance selection will impact the video footage as will the use of picture control profiles like these:

http://www.similaar.com/foto/flaat-picture-controls/index.html

If you want the equivalent of "raw" video and you are really feeling ambitious, you can also use a Ninja 2 recorder to capture the uncompressed HDMI stream from the sensor to get 10-bit footage that can be color-graded in an editing program like Premiere Pro. They've come down in price quite a bit and work great for the D600 and D800.

Sean

Sean
Wow, I've got so much to learn. Not interested in spending more money right now so I've got to figure out how to get the best result out of the camera. Not sure why the footage I took is so washed out.