D700+ what lens choice for musuem tour

I'm planning on going to a tour at the Nagasaki museum soon and would like to ask what works best when going to a museum. I'll be using my D700. I'm not sure if tripods are allowed. I'm quite sure flash photography is out of the question.

1. So for indoor with ambient lighting (mostly incandescent), will the prime lens or f4 VR lenses work best in this situation?

2. The available lenses are Nikon 16-35mm f4 VRII, 24-120mm f4VRII, Nikon 24-70mm f2.8 AFS or Nikon 50mm f1.8D.

I'm not a pro so these are just for my personal use. I would like to hear your thoughts or opinions especially to those who have visited museums.

I would vote for the Nikon 24-120 F4 VRII. The VRII will come in handy in there when the light is low, especially if your not bringing a tripod.

I like to take the 24-70 f2.8 for my first visit to a museum. It is a good range, and it deals well with low light. While some may suggest a faster prime, it is my experience that you need depth of field. For that reason the addition of VR on the 24-120 may make it a good choice. If I had a choice of the two, I would still pick the 24-70 though.

Using the d9 shutter delay option can be a great help to reduce blur at slow shutter speeds. I would also make use of the Auto ISO. Set ISO to 200 and then choose a minimum shutter speed you know you can get reasonably steady shuts with, for me that is 1/40. Next cap your ISO at 3200, or higher if you feel it necessary. If you cap at 3200, what will happen, when that is not enough, is that the camera will begin to lower shutter speed. So watch it, it is better to be ISO 4000 at 1/40 than ISO 2000 at 1/20.

Also look for objects to brace yourself or the camera against. You can both steady the shot and reduce glass case reflections by removing the hood and placing the lens against the glass while you cup the front so it doesn't move. This can make it possible to get use low ISO at very slow shutter speeds.