D80+70-300VR or D200 body only ?

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by antsplan, May 11, 2007.

1. Simple as that - I can get a deal where the D80 and 70-300VR lens will be roughly the same price as a D200 body.

Any opinions ?

I currently own D50 and whilst this will last me a good bit longer due to the level I'm at, I have a wee bit of spare cash for now ?

Thanks in advance.

2. I suppose for me it would come down to what other lenses you already own. I have a D50, I then spent some time collecting some good lenses, then I moved on to a D200. It is a fantastic machine and I love using it, it just feels really good to work with. I looked at the D80 and it just wasn't then same, and having used the D200 for a while now I am soooooo glad I decided to spend the extra. But part of the reason I love using the D200 so much is that I have some great glass to work with too.

I am no expert in this subject, I just thought I share my experience with you.

By the way jessops do buy now pay 12 months :biggrin: Get a D200 and a 70-300VR :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Good luck in your decision.

Andy

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    D200 70-300VR or maybe the 55-200 VR

4. Neil M.

Neil M. Guest

I have the D200 and the 70-300VR. To be honest, and it could just be my lack of talent, I am not too impressed so far with the 70-300. Knowing what I think I know now, I would go for the D200 and build from there.

5. You definitely want the 70-300VR!! It is one of Nikon's bargains of all times. Some photos with it on my D200.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I have my original D70 and then bought the D200 and now use the D70 as a backup.

All the best
    Nancy

6. Neil M.

Neil M. Guest

Nancy,

Your shots prove beyond any shadow of a doubt that I lack talent! Were the bird shots taken hand held or with a tripod?