D80 Settings for Sports

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by mastercraft1995, Sep 25, 2008.

1. My current set up D80 with a 70 to 300 VFR lens. I'm very new to photography so I'm looking for some help. I'm very new to the whole digital camera thing and I'm a little over whelmed right now.

I'm try to shoot some football games for my son. I'm trying to shot in either "A" or "S", ISO around 200 on sunny days and 400 to 600 on cloudy days.

Yesterday it was cloudy and when ever I took a picture the helmets and gray sky would flash.

So I went to sports and auto because I couldn't figure it out. The pictures didn't flash at all.

I want to have control of the camera but I need some basic setting to start with.

So what are the basic setting you use and how do you get to those settings?

2. Try Smode:wink:

3. tjk60

tjk60

Dec 4, 2007
    troy, mi
    MasterCraft1995 (can I call you Master Craft? please add your name if possible)

When you set the shooting mode, Aperture or Shutter Priority, you are looking for certain things. Normally I shoot in AP mode to control teh depth of field, and keep an eye on my shutther speed so that it doesn't drop to low to freeze action.

you can shoot SP mode to always get your shutter speed, and you have to watch that, with a variable aperture lens, that you have enough light to expose properly.

All that said, you can shoot manual, and set Auto ISO to get the dept of field you want and the shutter speed you want and sacrifice ISO (and possibly introduce noise)

What you did to start, and having the helmet flash may not be all bad, if you ecposed the face right. You can always dial in a little -EV to get rid of the blinkies...

Post a few shots and let's see what you got!

And Welcome to the cafe!

4. jStat

jStat

Dec 11, 2007
    Janesville, WI
    First, the D80 has a Sports Mode. Set you camera to this, and make sure you have Single Area, AF-C set.