1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

D80 with 200-400f4

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR Forum' started by LaZoo, Apr 18, 2007.

1. LaZoo

LaZoo

Apr 16, 2007
    Texas
    I'm new to Nikon Cafe and forums in general, so I hope this is the right place to ask this question. I would like to know if anyone has used the nikkor 200-400f4 with a D80 and a 1.7 TC. I will use it for bird and other wildlife. I owe the D80 but not the 200-400 yet. Is there a better option out there?

I presently own a D70s, D80, 18-200, 80-400, 35-70, 35-135,and many older non AF lenses.

Any help would be appeciated

2. LaZoo

LaZoo

Apr 16, 2007
    Texas
    WOW, I quess this must not be the place to ask my question. Nearly 40 people have viewed this tread and no comments.

3. I am not answering your question because I don't know the answer. However, you might have better results asking in the LENS LUST section.

4. Doug

Doug

Jan 17, 2006
    East TN
    Well, other than it being like pairing tinkerbell with Godzilla, the results will probably be ok. I mean you mate a 10.2 mpx camera with world class glass, your going to get results that should be top shelf, relative to skill level.

But then you could also achieve reasonable results from a lesser distance with a 300 F4 for example as a lens that would be a better mate for the D80 size wise. I'm thinking balance here. The 200-400VR is a monstrous lens, and your going to be balancing lens only with a little camera dangling off the end is all...

5. There is always a better option.....just ask any group of people and everyone will have a different opinion, It all comes down to skill and budget.....some folks have both, some have neither,.....most of us have one or the other!:biggrin: