D90 High ISO: Kickboxing (main event fight)

Late Saturday night, early Sunday morning, August 16th 2009, Osvaldo "June" Dominguez prepared for his next main event fight. June won the fight after five rounds.

I had the opportunity to capture the action, as a photographer, a friend, and a teammate. I have been training out of Sitan Gym since November 2008, when I originally weighed 205lbs. After training at the gym I lost over 50lbs thanks to Rami Ibrahim, the owner and head trainer of Sitan Gym. June joined the gym about the same time as me and we have learned a lot together, both in and outside of the ring.

I hope you enjoy these shots, and as always, C&C is welcome.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

5PM EST: Rami Ibrahim (right) applies hand wraps for June (left).

11PM EST: June prepares for the fight with stretching and some healthy thinking.

12AM EST: June starts heavy shadow boxing only minutes prior to his fight.

1AM EST: Rami Ibrahim (left) gives final instructions, support, and guidance to June (right).

June lands a high kick against his opponent, Mike Lyle, straight to the head. (the force of this kick is equal to the full swing of an aluminum baseball bat)

June looks over as his opponent slowly recovers from the mat.

June lands a strong kick against his opponent's arm. ** READ MORE BELOW**

June lands a strong kick to the thigh area, usually resulting in immediate numbness to the local area.

June lands an uppercut straight to the face.

Yet another kick to the head.

The fight was delayed from a scheduled 11pm to 1am but this kick made it all worth it. June was pumped with excitement and the support from Sitan Gym on the sidelines pushed him past the edge. In this shot he executed a double spinning kick, landing both to the head/neck area.

Rami Ibrahim (left) and June (right) posing for a picture after the fight.