1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Day 1 with my Ne D500

Discussion in 'Birds' started by RON, Apr 10, 2018.

1. RON

RON

Apr 10, 2018
    Hi I have just done my first shoot with the Nikon D500 and the Nikon 200-500 Lens. The light was poor but managed to get some pictures of a Peacock, as I am new to Nikon I set the camera up as per a video on youtube. I use DXO for editing but noticed lots of noise in the Feather detail. I got the d500 yesterday so do I need Firmware update. Or is it because of the low light and I had WB set to Auto and ISO set to Auto. I am a 7DMK2 user for last 4 years so Nikon is all new to me, just need a bit of advice. Could it be a bad Camera or lens as I heard this camera was the best on the market.

Thanks Ron
    DSC_0332_DxO.
    NIKON D500    ---    500mm    f/5.6    1/800s    ISO 3200

2. Butlerkid

Butlerkid Cafe Ambassador Moderator

Apr 8, 2008
    Rutledge, Tennessee
    Karen
    What ISO? Did you use the DxO PRIME noise reduction? IMHO....the D500 have very aggressive noise above ISO 1600.

The key is to expose to the right...therefore not having to increase exposure or lift shadows in post.

FWIW....I always set ISO to auto. That shouldn't have a major effect on noise.

3. Auto WB is fine. Your camera chose ISO 3200 so noise is to be expected. Also, dynamic range has decreased by 42% at that ISO so pictures just don't look as good.

Last edited: Apr 10, 2018
  4. West

West

Jan 2, 2012
    Vancouver BC
    It also looks like your main focus point is the body not the head.

5. and the metering seems a wee bit biased against the darker head

6. Welcome Ron