Decided it was time to expand my horizons and

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by Gerald Plowman, Jul 8, 2007.

1. shoot something besides BIF. Shot these in Manual Mode (another first for me) trying to keep the bright water under control (metered off the water). I see such great images here and would appreciate any suggestions . . thanks.

large.

View attachment 104756

View attachment 104757

After my first time out I can attest to the fact there certainly are more challenges shooting "landscapes."

2. i'm no expert in flowing water photos, but you gotta watch your highlights in there. i would meter off the brightest point and go from there. as far as compositional choices, that's all up to you, but if it were me, i would not place the stream in the middle of the frame all the time. and get lower! try different perspectives. good luck!

3. It looks like you had dappled sunlight, coming through the trees. That is the worst situation for taking flowing water shots. In that situation, it is almost impossible to get a decent shot, without merging images. The best light for the shots, is when he skies are overcast. A slight drizzle is great. That way, the dynamic range is greatly reduced. Sunny conditions can still work; but, you need even lighting, such as when there is a completely open canopy or a closed canopy that completely shades the water.

Heavy forested areas, such as you had, can be difficult, because you not only have the bright water, but also the dark, shaded areas, under the trees.