1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

'Do Any Of You Read The Magazines - If So Which Ones?'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Panther, Aug 1, 2009.

1. As a fledgling newbie, I sometimes find myself glancing at the photog magazines on the racks. Although I haven't purchased one yet, the thought has crossed my mind a few times.

Just wondering what you folks read (if you do)....Tks:smile:

2. I was given a gift subscription to Outdoor Photographer. There are some useful articles in there from time to time. The problem with most publications, not just photography based ones, is that 2/3 of the pages are advertising. I would not have a problem with if it were a free publication, but paying to read advertisements is a drag. Fortunately a lot of these articles are also available on the magazine's website, so it doesn't hurt to look every few weeks for new and interesting articles.

3. I take other magazines and look at the pictures. does that count? :tongue: But in all seriousness, ive read Outdoor Photographer also, its pretty interesting. Ive looked through some others, i forget the names though hahaha =/

4. Ronald M

Ronald M

Nov 10, 2008
    Chicago
    I got a subscription to Popular after just reading my library copy for 25 years. $7.00, what the heck.

Leica Photography International is stopped, View Camera is stopped. Camera Art is stopped. That`s about $150 a year.

I read Digital Photography at the library and save the $50.00.

5. I've never subscribed to a photography magazine and seldom read them. Much more information is available on the internet now.

However, I purchased a copy of Nature Photographer a few weeks ago, and I have been quite impressed with it. They give complete technical data on every image published.

I may subscribe to it.