1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Do I relapse?

Discussion in 'Film Forum' started by agw0, Jul 20, 2008.

1. agw0

agw0

Oct 28, 2006
    Munich, Germany
    (Would have liked to add images, but SmugMug seems to be down... maybe later)

Is this a severe condition, or is it just a "normal" deviation, or a phase I'm going through?

About two years ago, when I got my D200, I was overwhelmed by the state of the art digital photography had become. I've been shooting film for 20+ years before that, and Nikon gear since around '92. Comparing the images of the D200 to slides shot side-by-side with the F5, I got the the impression, "well, that's it", and seriously thought about selling of all my film gear save for the M3 (mainly for sentimental reasons, got that from my father, who originally bought is around '57 or so).

Well, beginning this year I promised myself to come straight, and said to myself, "if I don't shoot at least 12 rolls of film this year (for an average of 1/mo.), I really will ditch the film stuff".

Well, about half a year later, I finished roll #13 yesterday, which isn't bad considering my current workload & other responsibilities. And I'm more away from digital than I thought possible:

• New D700 FX body released by Nikon? Honestly, I couldn't care less at the moment...
    • New AF-S, PC-E etc. lenses released? Not interested at all, as they wont work on older bodies...
    • I started shooting B&W film again, and do my own developing&scanning.
    • I've had the MN-30 battery for my F5 rebuild by a local shop specializing in battery repairs.
    • Lately, I started using my F3HP+MD4 again. In the last 4-6 weeks, I haven't used anything else.