1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Dragon ID Please

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by raian, Jul 24, 2008.

1. Go this one this morning. I've not seen this color before around my parts. Wondering what he/she is.

337973694_W69T6-L.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

2. trwigg

trwigg

Jul 11, 2008
    texas
    NIce shot. May I ask what lens you used to get this shot? I am new to photography and am very intrigued with shooting dragonfly's. Thank you.

3. I actually used my 70-300. Wasn't intending to shoot dragonflies, but came upon this guy and started firing ;) 

4. Linda - no clue what that is (I'll leave it up to the better experts than I) but I love the shot :) 

Tim - there are plenty of excellent dragonfly photographers here - you shouldn't have any problem finding tips and tricks - check out the posts from Spectre, tojor or j.ankanpaa as far as excellent dragon/damsel photography.

5. Thanks Paul.
    I'm really enjoying getting dragonfly shots, like it almost as much as photographing birds.

6. I've been searching on google. I think this may be a yellow-sided skimmer? Am I correct?

7. yeah - I'd go with that - looks like it to me (after a quick internet search)

Libellula flavida
    Yellow-sided%20Skimmer_2005-06-18-0039.jpg

8. Thanks Paul.
    How do you tell the sex? I'm just learning so forgive my ignorance of such things.

9. Spectre

Spectre

Feb 20, 2008
    Oregon
    Linda,