Drop art photos: two double crowns and a crown

I hadn't photographed any crowns since July, which is the only time I had photographed them. Unlike in July, I used transparent liquid this time.

The narrative at each photo explains that I had hoped for a sophisticated, elegant look but didn't achieve it until the third photo. That one wasn't captured until I had taken nearly 100 photos among two sessions.

Photo #1: A little messy, but it's my first time that using just one drop produced a double crown. So, I'll take it! Post-processing complements the look of the formation.
Mike 2021-02-21--0001-S.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Photo #2: A bit more refined but not yet what I wanted. Again, I'll take it because of the double crown produced using just one drop. Post-processing is different to accommodate the improved look of the formation.
Mike 2021-02-22--0003-S.jpg

Photo #3: Finally! The look I was hoping to achieve from the outset. The improved results from the first photo to the second photo and then the third photo were achieved by using a highly scientific, tried and true method: make no changes and hope for the best!
Mike 2021-02-22--0009-S.jpg

Last edited:

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen
What a wonderful set! #3 is certainly the winner! So very special!

I really like #1 as well. I tried tweaking #1 on a PS layer using ACR....+.4 exposure, +20 blacks and +15 vibrance. Then I masked the faint colored areas so only the darkest areas were affected. You might as well clean up the spots in #1 and 2.....

Thank you to Karen, Terri, Mitch, Dan, Nick and West!

Crowns is a perfect description.