1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Dropped my D300

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR Forum' started by Alan.Tran, Aug 17, 2008.

1. Alan.Tran

Alan.Tran

Jun 5, 2008
    California
    I dropped my D300 with a 70-200 attached from about 10 inches, nothing too high. The camera and lens are fine but now everytime I try to mount a lens that's not the 70-200, it takes a lot of force to get the lens on (I have to use two hands). I think the lens mount on the D300 and the 70-200 might be out of alignment. Anyone have any ideas?

Alan

2. jadog2

jadog2

Dec 18, 2007
    SF
    One idea would be to send it in to Nikon in Southern California.

3. Alan,
    Sorry to hear that. Sounds like a visit to Nikon repair will be required.
    I know it's not going to be helpful this time, but since I am not a professional photographer I found I could add my camera and other equipment to the Personal Articles Policy I originally purchased to cover my wifes jewelry (which isn't covered by normal homeowners policy). The cost was only about $1.32 per thousand dollars of coverage and covers accidental damage like from dropping, moisture, or even losing a lens. There is no deductable It doesn't cover maintenance. I got an extended maint contract from Nikon for the D300 to cover maint.
    Hopefully it will be a minor repair to get your D300 back in proper working order.

4. Interesting, I may need to look into insurance as well. I've been wanting to go on some crazy adventures and breaking my camera would definitely hold me back. Thanks for the info!

5. scooptdoo

scooptdoo Guest

you better get the crazy adventure policy a little more jak but worth it.

6. jmark

jmark

Feb 6, 2007
    Greer, SC
    I did the same Rick. Well worth the piece of mind in my book.

7. sorry to hear of this issue