DSLR Dashboard & D600: What am I missing

Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
I still, for the life of me, can't get DSLR Dashboard to recognize a D600. It only says "No DSLR camera found on USB". What steps must be taken to get it to work?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Northern Colorado
I still, for the life of me, can't get DSLR Dashboard to recognize a D600. It only says "No DSLR camera found on USB". What steps must be taken to get it to work?

You have to hit the back button, then a screen comes up and you have to pick the WU-1b option. It will then connect to your D600 (make sure the WU-1b is connected and working on your D600 first).

I also found that I had to uninstall the Nikon Andriod software because it was interfering with the DSLR Dashboard.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
573
Location
Louisville KY
have to be sure to have the right cable
I bought two from different vendors on ebay - one worked, the other didn't

and what phone do you have?
it has to have usb host mode enabled

those are the first two things that come to mind
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
I'm trying to connect through the WU-1B. I can get it to connect, but nothing happens after that..... just a black screen with some icons in the top right.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
586
Location
Atlanta, GA
First, you have to have Android 4.x on your phone.
Plug in the WU-1B into the D600 and power up the camera.
Make sure that your WiFi is connected to the Nikon adapter.
Once connected, bring up the app, give it a second, then use the back button to bring up the menu.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
Android 4.1.2 installed. I disconnnect from my home wi-fi and connect to the WU network

I hit the Back button, choose "Connect to WU-1a/1b", and enter the correct

server IP (192.168.1.2 in this case).

Still, I get a black screen with icons on the top right that do nothing.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
Screenshot_2013-07-16-19-13-27.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
Try connecting through your home wifi network just to try the test.
.............

I can only connect to one device at a time. If I connect to the home wi-fi, the phone isn't connected to the camera.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
I stayed connected to my home wifi and it still found the camera. I did that several times just to try it.

If I have to have an open wi-fi available just for the app to work, then it's fairly useless. The phone can find dozens of systems.... but can only connect to one.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
586
Location
Atlanta, GA
If I have to have an open wi-fi available just for the app to work, then it's fairly useless. The phone can find dozens of systems.... but can only connect to one.

You are having trouble connecting. I'm just trying to get you to first establish that your equipment physically works. I'm not telling you to always connect through a network.

You need to work through getting a connection one step at a time and find why you are having an issue.

You haven't posted what phone you have yet. S3 works, but I hear that S2 does not.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
So, you connected once, but now you can't get it to connect again, or can you only get the WMU app to work?

I even deleted the WMU on the off-chance it was causing the issue.

I can connect to the WU-1b. It stays connected. I just can't get the app to do anything except what the screenshot shows.

I never had any issues with WMU.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
586
Location
Atlanta, GA
I did not have to delete the WMU app, jut make certain that it is properly exited. You can't have it running while you bring up DSLR Dashboard.

Try uninstalling and reinstalling the DSLR Dashboard app, if you haven't done that already.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
3,191
Location
Cornpatch
.........Try uninstalling and reinstalling the DSLR Dashboard app, if you haven't done that already.

Well, crap.... that's all it took. Get out your crayons and color me stupid. :frown:
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom