Dutch Hill tripods

Discussion in 'Tripods, Ball Heads, and Gimbals' started by Robert, Jul 20, 2007.

1. Robert

Robert

Jul 24, 2005
    Canada
    I'm considering buying a Dutch Hill tripod, either the P900 Extended or the GT 2000CF surveyors tripod, (if I can order one with a 3/8-16 thread) for their ultra stability, durability and quick setup.
    Are there any Dutch Hill tripod users here? Any issues to be concerned about? Weight is not that much of a concern for me. The P900 Extended weighs 6.5 lbs., and handles 28 lbs. The GT 2000CF weighs 10.75 lbs. and has a load capacity of 50 lbs.

2. Robert

Robert

Jul 24, 2005
    Canada
    Bump...These tripods are highly recommended for photographers and I'm hoping someone here has some experience with them.

3. Robert:

I've been using the extended P900 for several months now and it has replaced all of my other tripods except for one that I use for flower macro shots. It does a great job of getting the camera up high, is quick and easy to set up, and seems pretty stable. I don't mind the length of it and in fact have hiked with it several miles with no problem - I have a sling on it and it rides over my shoulder like any other tripod of mine.

The only issue I have with it is the fact that you can't get very low to the ground without having to be flat on the ground - there is that middle level where it won't work. The legs will go to any angle you want but they will only lock at three angles, and if you want something in that is very low to the ground the legs can slip if you are not dug into firm earth. Sometimes I will put a rock under the base if I need to be a foot off the ground for instance.