DX Lens Dilemma

I have an old D70s body, and am eagerly waiting for either a D400 or a D800. I'm in no rush to get a new body since I'm still learning, and I don't think I've hit the D70s wall yet, although it's been gradually becoming more and more annoying to use it.

Here's the dilemma: I have ONE DX lens in my bag, Tokina 11-16 f2.8. It's a wonderful piece of glass and I love it. But if FX is in my future, should I sell it now or keep it (and get D400 instead)? I already have someone interested in taking it off my hands.

I suppose this can easily degrade into a DX vs FX debate, and that's fine with me.

Opinions, comments appreciated.

Thanks.

If the D700 is anything to go by there is a DX mode which allows the use of DX lenses. Even if you use a DX Lens on an FX body it still works just with a bit of vignetting which can be easily addressed in PP. So if you love the lens why not keep it?

if you're planning on upgrading to FX sometime in the next five years, then stop buying DX glass.

sell the lens once you've upgraded. you'll lose out a little, but you'll have the lens in the meantime to use.

putting DX glass on an FX camera is a frightful waste of sensor size and camera capability.

That is true about the DX mode. I forgot it can do that, but I prefer to take advantage of the entire sensor if I already went through the trouble of getting it. What are the options for FX wide-angle anyway... 14-24 f2.8?

I got the Tok a couple years ago. This was before I even dreamed of getting an FX body, and as I said, I have been avoiding DX. All my other lenses are film/FX designed.

I have an old D70s body, and am eagerly waiting for either a D400 or a D800. I'm in no rush to get a new body since I'm still learning, and I don't think I've hit the D70s wall yet, although it's been gradually becoming more and more annoying to use it.