Dynamic Range question/discussion

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Jim Strathearn, Jun 26, 2005.

1. Although I am a long time amateur "wannabe" photographer, I never really got too deep into the technical side of photography. (Which probably explains the wannabe status...) And now I have a question about dynamic range...

From what I read, most digital sensors do not have the dynamic range of an excellent film. However, I have found that in situations where contrast is great, if I expose for the highlights, I can often recover details using Nikon Capture's D-Lighting. This tells me that the detail in the shadows is in fact recorded by the sensor. Cameras like the new Nikon S1 has D-Lighting built in (as does cameras by other manufacturers...).

My question is this:

Is dynamic range really limited by our sensors, or is it really limited by the logic that the camera processors use to convert the light to a digital file? Could firmware improvements help in this regard?

2. heiko

heiko

May 15, 2005
    Israel
    Hi Jim,

I'm no expert, but read a little on this - so please verify my comments.

I would say Yes and Yes:

Is the dynamic range limited by the sensor? Yes. There is definitely an upper limit where it becomes saturated (highlight effect). At the other end of the scale, when the amount of light is low, the sensor starts to pick up other "noise", electronic noise, heat induced noise, etc. At some point you will not be able to get any meaningful data in between the noise.
    I'm sure that with time the camera manufacturers will be able to improve on that and produce sensors that can have an even higher dynamic range, or find tricks to cool down the sensor to extend the range.