Eeeeeeek!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xrdbear, Jun 26, 2007.

1. A couple of hours ago I discovered I have been running for the last 3 months without a virus checker.

I was using Zonealarm suite but they brought out a new version that conflicted seriously with one of my applications so I deinstalled it and reinstalled just the free firewall version. Later on that evening I had intended to buy a new AV program but plainly I never did.

I just bought BitDefender and installed it. It seems to get good reviews. Amazingly after 3 months unprotected my machine is still clean.

Lucky or what? Downside is the machine is a tad slower but only just.

2. Ghunger

Ghunger

Apr 2, 2007
    Seattle, WA
    To be honest, I havn't ran a virus scan on my home computer in at least 3 years :eek:, though I am behind a firewall. I figure you can eliminate most the sources of viruses by only visiting sites you trust and not using an email client. I just use gmail web based mail so I would have to actually click an attachment to download it. Maybe I'm being naive (sp?) but so far so good, the computer seems ok. Main reason I stopped is I hated having to shell out money every year to Norton or who ever to pay for virus updates and my computer always ran slow with them.

3. Why pay when the best virus protection program is free... AVG by Grisoft. Look it up, this is what I use at home and at work, the free version of AVG beats all Norton paid for applications by 10 miles, yes that's by 10 miles :wink:

4. SoCalBob

SoCalBob

Feb 9, 2006
    Riverside, CA
    Excellent advice from the Dude! I used Norton AV for many years until each successive new version got more bloated (a serious problem with Symantech software) and finally got to be such an awful resource hog a couple of years ago that I switched to the free version of AVG. The first time I ran it AVG found three virus infections that Norton had never flagged and removed them. Since then I have completely virus-free.