Epson SureColor P800

Real Name
Tunney Moriarty
I just purchased the above printer and having an extremely difficult time setting it up to print from LightRoom CC on a iMac running High Sierra. I had an Epson 3880 for years and it printed great but the head just went on it within the last 2 weeks so I thought I would upgrade to the P800. Setting up the layout like on my 3880 is giving me very poor results. Yes I am using Ilford Paper and do have the profile for it installed. Very very frustrating as I am a photographer and can print portraits that are 10 days behind to my customer. I am almost to the point of taking it back.. Could use some help please or direct contact to helpmeet solve this problem. I had a so called Expert from Epson come on line to look at my settings and he said they were right on. The faces of my subjects look dark, much darker than the shot. I also have my 27 inch iMac Monitor coloured profiled with x-rite. Hope some one here can help me..... tonight!!!~!!!!!

Tunney

Real Name
Walter Rowe
What candle setting do you use for white point in your color calibration? I use about 85 for white point to prevent prints from being too dark. Anything higher and you end up darkening your images in post, which makes them darker when printed.

I’m printing from a 4K iMac running macOS Mojave and Capture One Pro to an Epson SC P800 like you. I use Epson papers, inks and print profiles.

The P800 is a great printer and as already touched on here your issue most likely to be one of two.

If you are using the same Ilford profile that you used for the 3880 this is possibly wrong. Check for the specific P800 Ilford profile online. If you believe profile correct then try another paper profile combination.

I would strongly suggest using a known data source for test printing first such as
http://www.pixl.dk/download/